MistyNites

My Life in Motion

The Not-So-Patient Patient

For someone who loves being active, my worst nightmare is sustaining an injury. At the end of October I was booked up for a week away which included a 4-day hike amongst the Southern Alps. It’s been about 2 years since I’ve done an overnight hike, and when I booked the trip I was immensely excited at the thought of getting back into hiking again, and exploring a part of New Zealand that I haven’t been to before. Unfortunately, after over a month of finding sitting and bending painful and uncomfortable thanks to a compressed spinal disc, I’m coming to terms with the fact that the trip isn’t going to happen. 3 weeks into my treatment, I’ve had a big improvement thankfully, but not enough to make the trip a reality this year. I’m gutted.

Spending a lot of time lying down these days, I’ve passed a lot of hours perusing the internet, and find myself getting jealous of all the traveller’s bucket lists that I’ve come across. When I think about it, I don’t have one. Or at least, not in the truest sense, but since moving to New Zealand, I’ve mentally grown an ever increasing list of things I want to see and do in this country (to read what I’ve already done in New Zealand, click here, here, here, and here). This is the closest I ever plan to form a bucket list, but given that I’m having to cancel my hiking trip, I have a lot of time on my hands to mull over all the things that I want to make happen, as well as sitting in awe watching the stunning television programme Wild About New Zealand. Watch this space…

Edit: I am excited to get my hiking trip rescheduled for early 2014. Fingers crossed I stay injury free!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Not-So-Patient Patient

  1. Pingback: Aotearoa Road Trip | MistyNites

  2. Pingback: Notes from the North Island, Part 2 | MistyNites

  3. Pingback: Bula! Bula! | MistyNites

Leave a Reply

